Recognizing Volunteers That Go Above And Beyond for DSCC

Honor Roll

DSCC Congratulates Volunteers of the Year!

Each year, DSCC honors Volunteers of the Year in several categories, recognizing exceptional individuals and organizations who have given their time and talent to DSCC and the elderly. “Volunteers are our lifeblood,” said Marylin Krolak, Executive Director, “they not only help provide meals, safety checks, minor home repairs, and yard services, but also help with fundraising efforts.”

This year’s Volunteer of the Year Award Winners in each category are:

Volunteer Award – 2019

Addison VSM Temple: Chandrakumar Dutia

Addison Park District: Joe Fritsch

Aurora Bawarchi: Lata Choksi

Bensenville Castle Towers: Laura Anderson

Bloomingdale Senior Center: Sophie Schultz

Downers Grove Peace: Diana Smith

Elgin S.S.A.: Bob Miller

Geneva-United Methodist Church: Susan Kellner

Glendale Heights Senior Center: Cheryl & Dean Svee

Greencastle of North Aurora: Roger Rice

Lombard York Township: Julie Pokorny

Naperville Park District: Gary Young

Westmont Park District: Sue Stealey

Wheaton Marian Park: Tom Johnson

Well Being & Safety Volunteer of the Year Award

James & Carol Flannigan – Bloomingdale Senior Center

Del & Gini Frost – Elgin S.S.A.

Yard Clean Up Volunteers of the Year Award

Liz Haywood – Jr. Woman’s Club

Steve Bouse

Fundraising Volunteer of the Year Award

Mary Ann Hollis

Friendly Visitor Volunteer of the Year

Rene Villalobos

Volunteer Organization of the Year

Susan Andrews – National Charity League

Intergenerational Volunteer of the Year

Marianne Okubo – Shinnyo-En Temple

DSCC & KSC Volunteer of the Year

DSCC – John Lachman-Glendale Heights Senior Center

KSC – Edward Knutsen-Elgin S.S.A.

Volunteer Award Nominees by Site – 2016

Addison VSM Temple: B.K. (Babarik) Patel

Addison Park District: Ken Vairo

Bensenville Castle Towers: George Anderson

Bloomingdale Senior Center: Rachel Polina-Bridgestone Firestone

Downers Grove Peace: Marie Gerth

Glendale Heights Senior Center: John Lachman

Lombard Shahi Nihari: Lata Chokski

Lombard York Township: Roberto Casas

Naperville Park District: Tom Grabowski

Westmont Park District: Bill Keller

Wheaton Marian Park: Peg Matte

DSCC Volunteer of the Year 2016

Lombard York: Catherine & Stan Janusz

Chore Days Volunteer Nominee of the Year – 2016

Ken Lafin – Elmhurst Police Department

Frank Plekavic & Family – Addison

Well Being Volunteer Nominee of the Year – 2016

Nancy Sennstrom – Westmont Park District

Fundraising Volunteer Nominee of the year – 2016

Dr. Mary Ann Hollis – Oak Brook

Rosina LaPietra – Riverside

T.C. (Tammy) Leonard- Mokena- DSCC Staff Member

2015 Volunteer of the Year

Jack Jones

Nutrition Site Volunteers of the Year 2015

Addison Park District Site: Jack Jones

Addison VSM Temple Site: Padma Patel

Bensenville Castle Towers Site: Fran Wenig

Bloomingdale Senior Center Site: Myron Wilson

Downers Grove Peace Memorial Manor Site: Diana Smith

Glendale Heights Center for Sr. Citizens Site: Josephine Vocalino

Lombard Shahi Nihari Site: Lata Choksi

Lombard York Township Site: Catherine & Stan Janusz

Naperville Park District Site: Byron Krause

Roselle MAFS Site: Haribhai Thakker

Westmont Park District Site: Charles Fultz

Wheaton Marian Park Site: Alice Link

Well Being & Safety Volunteer of the Year 2015

Jennifer Don

Chore Days Volunteer of the Year 2015

Marcy Chartrand – Elmhurst Chief Enterprises Jeff Esat

Fundraising Volunteer of the Year 2015

Madeline Holstrom

Corporate Volunteer of the Year 2015

Aubrey Van Reken – NAI Hiffman